Red Sonja Rides

me1I’ve seen a million things, had a hundred hair colours and a thousand nicknames, if ever I’ve had one. Phoenix, Valkyrie and Red Sonja to name a few. I like the names the people I’ve known have given me along the way. Each of them suggest a warrior woman unafraid of change. Standing in fire clad in leather and brandishing a sword; there are people who see me as a brash adventurer exploring both the deep inner world of the soul and the rich outer world of our planet. I, on the other hand, see myself as a terrified little girl who sometimes lets fear win, but other times refuses to give in to the great destroyer.  Franklin D. Roosevelt once said “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the assessment that something else is more important than fear.”  This is how my heart lives. Fearful or not, we only get one shot here on this earth, in this life. So go out, adventure, live, laugh, and love.

For this adventure, I have chosen to use the moniker Red Sonja because it sounds good with the things one does on a bicycle. Red Sonja Cycles, or Red Sonja Rides. Just has a catchy ring to it. That being said, a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. So whatever we call it, an adventure is an adventure and my gypsy soul is always that. A gypsy soul.
 bicycle
I do not have an expensive bicycle,  but I have a good bicycle. The gears shift well, the breaks work well and the seat is as comfy as a pillow on a stick being pushed into your ass  muscles can be. It is not a new bicycle. However, it is a ‘new to me’ bicycle. Recently I traded in the 6 old rusty bikes I had in my shed for one bike that would get me as far as I wanted to go. That was 3 weeks ago. Since the day I picked her up from the shop Ive clocked 570KM on her. (That’s 354 miles if you were wondering. I use my bicycle for everything, getting from point A to point B, doing the grocery shopping, picking up my daughter, taking my dog for a run and just all around adventuring.
The first few posts I’m going to make here will catch you up on the last 570km I’ve ridden, where Ive been to, what Ive seen, the adventures that have been had. Its been fun, and I am looking forward to many, many more adventures. Mostly I am looking forward to sharing them with you, for what is a minstrel telling a story without an audience?
Untill next time.
Leave a Reply

